Home

It’s a question we ask from time to time, sometimes seriously, sometimes facetiously. It can be an easy question to answer, or it can be the beginning point of a lot of deep thought. For me, the answer comes down to a few easy, quick responses:

1. I am a cook and an eater.
2. I am a sister and a friend.
3. I am a writer.

That was easy! But wait, there’s more!

1. Beginning with point number one: I never thought of myself as a cook until about a year ago, when I was pulling a roast duck out of my oven. From the girl who was haphazardly chopping onions with a paring knife and making chili for every other meal to this person who was casually basting a roast duck and making bread from scratch in her spare time, I had progressed. And I’m not saying that these things I made or am making are even difficult, but there’s a mindset that goes with it that I acquired, a sort of attitude of fearlessness, creativity, and desire to make something new. You mess up, you get angry, you try again, you throw it all away and go out for dinner.

Of course, you have to eat the things you make. But I eat just about anything. Mustard on apples? Sure. Watermelon tomato gazpacho? Yes, please. Raw beets? Hand ’em over. This, too, is a development. I used to be the pickiest eater. It goes hand-in-hand with learning to cook. I think once you have an understanding of how ingredients and different foods work in a kitchen, they become less…well, scary. So you eat them.

2. My sister is so important to me. We don’t always get along, which is typical, but we’re always there for each other when it comes down to it.

My friends fill in the cracks in my life, if that makes sense. They come ’round for a little food and a little talk. We make it through together.

3. Being a writer is a also a state of mind, one which has you thinking constantly in images and playing with words. I often imagine myself sorting through giant clearance bins of words, looking for the right adjective at the right price, muttering under my breath about the lousy selection.

And now a bio:

I was born in Connecticut and moved to Florida with my family a few years later. I grew up in a cute little beach town with nothing much to boast of save our many bridges and a Bennihana’s. A few years ago, I moved to Gainesville, Florida, home of the University of Florida, where my love of eating good food blossomed into a love of making good food. With so many fresh, delicious ingredients around all year long, Gainesville is a good home for a foodie. I’m now on the prowl for a job that unites me love of food with my passion for the written word.

6 thoughts on “Who am I?

  1. My sister is very important to me too. She is 16 and in high school. Sometimes we argue because we’re very different, but all in all I know she is a great person and one day we will be very close.

  2. Pingback: Blogs of My Classmates « easyrecipesforpoorcollegekids

  3. What’s really funny is: I started my “Who am I?” much in the same way you did. I actually did ask myself that question I loud before I answered in my post. I really enjoy your take on food, and I hope you do indeed find a job that marries your love of food and your passion of writing!

  4. Pingback: Other Exciting Blogs | The Pepper Farm

  5. From one fellow foodie and writer to another… bravo! I absolutely love your take on local, fresh ingredients and your passionate approach to cooking. Gainesville has had a deep influence on my love for food and community support… so I feel as though you are speaking right to me in your posts! I eat oatmeal every morning, and I am definitely going to try your Pumpkin Spice version of my favorite quick-fix breakfast (among a few other recipes, of course). Great job… I say we should have a telecomm dinner party…

  6. From one fellow foodie and writer to another… bravo! I absolutely love your take on local, fresh ingredients and your passionate approach to cooking. Gainesville has had a deep influence on my love for food and community support… so I feel as though you are speaking right to me in your posts! I eat oatmeal every morning, and I am definitely going to try your Pumpkin Spice version of my favorite quick-fix breakfast (among a few other recipes, of course). Great job… I say we should have a telecomm dinner party…

Leave a Reply

